What to do with all this squash? part II

21 Oct

A Winter Squash Series: Sweet Dumpling Squash

by Francine

Squash is plentiful, long lasting, festive and somewhat of a puzzle. It can be difficult to get through it’s sometimes-thick skin and figure out what to do with it. I decided to figure out this puzzle by picking up four wee squashes at the farmers’ market a few weeks ago. I’ve been researching each one and looking for recipes that are more than cut in half, scrape seeds, bake and top with butter. Stay tuned to find out what I did with each squash, as well as some fun facts.

A photo of squash in a box

The farmers from whom I bought the very cute Sweet Dumpling squash from told me that it’s a perfect one person squash. It’s just the right size if you’re cooking for yourself.  Simply cut it in half, roast in the oven, jazz it up with some spices or some sweetness and enjoy.

I decided to make soup for one with a Sweet Dumpling squash.

  • First I cut the squash along its waist and removed the seeds.
  • Next I roasted it for about 25 minutes at 325 F.
  • While it was cooling, I sautéed half of a small onion and one slice of bacon with a little butter (but you could use oil).
  • Then I scooped out the flesh. (I read that the shells/skins of sweet dumplings make great festive bowls.)
  • I added the the squash flesh to the onion/bacon mix.
  • After that, I stirred in some half and half along with water to get my preferred soup consistency.
  • I simmered it for 5-10 minutes.A photo of the soup
  • A dash of salt and I had myself a little bowl of sweet dumpling soup.

The taste?  To me it was like sweet corn and squash mixed together. Very tasty!  Next time I’ll use a few sweet dumplings that way I can share and maybe have some leftovers (but I doubt it). :)

Have you ever prepared sweet dumpling squash? Does it sound like fun to use a squash ‘shell’ as a bowl?

Leave a Reply

