Autumn Glory Muffins: Oat Flour, Flaxseed, Green Tomato and Banana

28 Oct
by Francine

Growing up, Saturday mornings were celebrated by making warm, delicious muffins…from a box. Since then my family’s taste buds have been enlightened and while those childhood muffins were yummy and easy to put together, they weren’t the most wholesome.

Recently I’ve been on a muffin hiatus since I’ve cut (almost all) gluten from my diet. But when I saw this muffin recipe in Everyday Food’s September issue, I was inspired to make these muffins my own way. Our plump green tomatoes (which are slowly turning pink) were shouting, “yeah! muffins!” I also wanted to use oat flour (very easy to make: all you need is rolled oats and a blender).A photo of the ingredientsI made a few (kinda big) adaptations to the recipe. It is now gluten and dairy free. :)

Autumn Glory Muffins

Adapted from Martha Stewart
 
Ingredients:
  • 1 cup rolled oats, ground (pulse oats in blender until flour-y)
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup flaxseed, ground (pulse flaxseed in blender until flour-y)
  • 1 cup lightly packed light-brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup grated green tomatoes (grate 2 medium sized tomatoes, no peeling required.)
  • 1 mashed ripe banana
  • 3/4 cup soy milk
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
A photo of the MuffinsDirections:

Combine ground oats, ground flaxseed, brown rice flour, brown sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a mixing bowl. Stir dry ingredients together.

Use a grater with large holes to grate two green tomatoes (about 1 cup). If a lot of juice forms when you are grating the green tomatoes, discard it because you don’t want the batter to become too runny.  Mash 1 medium sized banana.  Add grated green tomatoes and mashed banana to the dry mixture.

In a small bowl whisk together soy milk, egg, oil and vanilla.  Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture.  Stir until well combined.  If it is too wet, you could add some rolled oats to thicken it (I had to do this).  You could also add some walnuts or unsalted sunflower seeds (I didn’t do this, but I think I’ll do it next time).

I used silicone baking cups which don’t require greasing. Spoon the batter into muffin cups.

We have a countertop convection oven. Convection ovens move hot air around the food, enabling lower cooking temperatures. I’ve hear that this type of oven is ideal when baking gluten free. I baked the muffins at 325 degrees for 10 minutes. Then I took them out, rotated the tray (for an even bake) and baked them 10 more minutes (a total of 20 minutes). If you have a conventional oven, follow the temperature and time for original recipe: 350F for 20-25 minutes.

Allow the muffins to cool before eating.  We tasted one right when it came out of the oven (excitedly and hungrily), but the ones we had later were much better, as they cooled a lovely crunchy top formed.

I think this recipe is a great one for creative variation. I’m looking forward to making them again and trying apple sauce, pumpkin or maybe even carrot (tastes of carrot cake are dancing in A photo of a muffinmy head) in place of the banana and green tomatoes.

If you make these, I’d love to hear what variation you came up with.

Happy muffin making!

10 Responses to “Autumn Glory Muffins: Oat Flour, Flaxseed, Green Tomato and Banana”

  1. veryberryhandmade November 13, 2011 at 4:53 am #

    That sounds absolutely intriguing – I have never encountered the idea of using green tomatoes in a muffin before. We picked the last of our tomatoes yesterday, including lots of green ones, so I might have to give this one a try!

    • realocalcooking November 13, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

      I hope you do! We’ve been craving these muffins again…the juicy green tomatoes made them very moist.
      I made these muffins again this past week but used carrots and pineapple in place of the green tomatoes (which turned red) and banana. They were different but just as tasty.
      Do you have any other plans for your green tomatoes?

  2. glutenvygirl November 18, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    These look fantastic. I’ve got all the ingredients, too, except some GF oats that I’ll try to pick up this weekend. I’ll have to try this out!:)

  3. terri October 6, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

    I made these tonight, with grated carrot (1 1/4 cups), unsweetened applesauce in place of mashed banana, 1/3 cups raisin (soak and drain if not plump) and 1 cup milk. Made 12 regular sized muffins plus 1 custard cup larger muffin. They are cooking now. Will let you know how they come out.

  4. terri October 6, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    My muffins look good. They rose, but are flat. Perhaps a little less liquid next time. Taste pretty good, although I did not let it cool either. Thank you for the recipe.

    • realocalcooking October 7, 2012 at 8:35 am #

      Glad that you were able to make these muffins. I like the recipe because it seems flexible, I’ve adapted it a number of different ways. When I made them, I noticed they tasted better once cooled, but I also had a hard time waiting. :) I hope that you can make them again sometime with a different combo of fruits. The fun of cooking and baking is experimenting. :) Thanks for your comments/updates!

    • realocalcooking October 7, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

      Glad you liked them. One time I made them with chia seed instead of flax and they tasted great but looked like concrete. The recipe seems to be resilient. It is hard to wait to eat them till they are cool though.

      • terri October 7, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

        The muffins came out great, and you are correct, better when cooled. This is a keeper. My husband loved them. I was going to use the batter in a rectangular pan, probably 9″ and make a blueberry buckle out of it. Thanks again!!:)

  5. realocalcooking October 7, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    I like how you think. When you have a batter that works it is fun to try it in new ways.

Leave a Reply

