Heavenly Leftover Soup Scones

5 Nov
by Deanne

The leftover pumpkin soup in our restaurant’s walk-in cooler has been calling me since I started reading a book called, An Everlasting Meal by Tamar Adler.

I like it when books challenge my way of thinking. Ms. Adler’s writing inspires me to move past my negative perception of leftovers. I’ve begun thinking “How can leftovers be an inspiration instead of a mental drain filling up space on my list of ‘shoulds’ in an already busy life?”A photo of the Scones and Ingredients

Here’s what I thought about yesterday afternoon.

I have:

  • Yummy leftover pumpkin soup
  • A tried and trued, yet flexible scone recipe
  • Time between customers on a slow Friday afternoon
  • A still warm oven from baking the day’s bread for the restaurant
  • A never-ending passion for scones, tea, and afternoon sun

The basic scone recipe below was found by Steve somewhere in his baking adventures—we wish we could remember where. (If anyone recognizes it as their recipe we’d be happy to share credit.) We like this recipe because it used cream instead of butter or oil to hold the dry ingredients together, which saves one from the task of working butter into the dry ingredients.

Basic Scone Recipe

Mix:

  • 2 cups flourA photo of tea and pumpkin scone
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • ¾ cup fruit

Add:

  •  1 cup heavy cream

Knead lightly, shape into a large round shape and cut into triangular shapes. Brush with an egg wash and sprinkle with sugar before baking in a preheated oven at 375 degrees, bake for 18 minutes.

The leftover pumpkin soup was made with quite a bit of cream so I used it in place of the cream in the recipe. For the fruit I added a combination of raisins and toasted sunflower seeds. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon because I like cinnamon and it seemed to fit with the rest of the ingredients.

My hopes settled into a sense of satisfaction as I prepared a cup of tea and moved like a cat into a spot of afternoon sun with one of these heavenly leftover soup scones.

3 Responses to “Heavenly Leftover Soup Scones”

  1. frugalfeeding November 5, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    Yummy! they sound delicious.

  2. Kathryn November 12, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    I love repurposing leftovers. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

