Joy from Cooking?

24 Nov
by Deanne

At my wedding shower in 1979, I was given a copy of Joy of Cooking. As a nineteen year old and soon to be wife, I was excited to cook. But (as I’ve mentioned before), I’ve had many cooking failures over the years. I think my cooking mistakes stem from approaching new things based on intuition more than on study.

When it came to cooking, it woA photo of my bookuld have been better for me to acquire some basic knowledge and skills that would have aided me in creating meals for my family.  After many years (and sorry tasting meals), cooking became a chore—something that had to be done to feed my family instead of a chance to learn and grow.

Today is Thanksgiving Day here in the USA, and I feel thankful that I am no longer burdened by the chore of cooking. Steve, Francine and Luke enjoy cooking and none of them are afraid to roll up their sleeves and learn new things, even though they approach learning in the kitchen differently. They create interesting meals so it’s no longer up to mom (me) to get food on the table.

With this sense of thankfulness, I now feel that I want to cook. I feel hopeful that there may even be some joy in learning to cook. While my son is busy preparing our Thanksgiving meal, I pulled my 1975 version of Joy of Cooking off the shelf. Along with finding the book, I discovered they have a website with an interesting history. I’ll keep you updated as I flip through the dusty pages and click through the site.

 How about you, is cooking a joy or a chore?

3 Responses to “Joy from Cooking?”

  1. Julie November 25, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    Cooking is joy for me now. In 1979, I think it was more of a chore! Hope you enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  2. Rachel December 14, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    It’s a chore for me…but one that I desperately want to be good at! I laughed at your post about cooking bacon too high- I (used to) tend to cook on high because I think subconciously I just wanted to get the meal done! And I hate to spend the time in the kitchen for a flop, it’s so discouraging. But I’m (attempting) to slow down, crawl to cooking basics & try to enjoy my time more in the kitchen!

    • realocalcooking December 16, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

      :) I thought the same thing about cooking on high. Recently I discovered that you should cook on medium when using non stick cookware..that way the chemicals don’t break down (even more than they already do). Just another reason for us to slow down and enjoy our time in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

