Red Button Makeover

13 Feb
by Francine

Hi friends!

This post doesn’t have anything to do with food or cooking, but it does have to do with real…buttons!

I decided to replace the boring tan buttons on one of my sweaters with an assortment of red buttons I found in my grandma’s button jar. (Some of the buttons are probably from the 50s or 60s.)  It’s made a rather boring sweater into a darling one. 

I love changing the buttons on clothing; it’s a simple way to make something unique. Also, I’ve found that thrift stores often have packs of unused buttons for super cheap.

A photo of the red buttoned sweater

Have you ever given your clothing a button makeover?

4 Responses to “Red Button Makeover”

  1. Susan February 13, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    Francine, I love that the red buttons are all very different. So cute…
    Susan

    • realocalcooking February 19, 2012 at 9:11 am #

      Thanks Susan, I’m pleased with how it turned out. My favorite are the two that look like flowers.

  2. Rachel February 14, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    Ok, now I’m groaning for just Friday getting rid of an old cardigan ! D’oh. What a great idea though. Love it!

    • realocalcooking February 19, 2012 at 9:09 am #

      Bummer! Well you can add new buttons to another about to go in the bin cardigan! :D

Leave a Reply

