Winter Squash Soup: A FarmerChef Special

29 Mar
by Francine

Yesterday we took all of our leftover winter squash and made a soup.  We used one ambercup squash, two sweet dumplings, one delicata and some butternut squash and of course ,some of our dried sage.  We loosely followed this recipe by Smitten Kitchen.

A photo of the special

One thing, I’ve realized about doing FarmerChef specials is that soup goes over really well.  We sold lots of soup weeks 1, 2 and 5.  Is it because it’s hard to shake off winter?  Or do people just love soup no matter the time of year…I know I do!

3 Responses to “Winter Squash Soup: A FarmerChef Special”

  1. Rachel March 29, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    Soup is the best, and yours sound particularly good, thats why! I was just thinking about what I can get for lunch…and I want a cup of soup. Unfortunately, I’m not going to find anything nearly as good as yours looks around here I don’t think.

  2. The Hong Kong Honky April 3, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    The thing I love about butternut squash soup is that it’s as good cold as it is hot. If I need something filling on a hot day, last nights butternut squash soup straight of the the fridge really fills me up.

    Yummy!

    Thanks for posting.

    • realocalcooking April 5, 2012 at 8:38 am #

      I’ve never tried cold butternut squash soup, but I imagine it would be tasty. I’ll have to try it the next time I have some leftovers. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

