Off to England!

6 Apr
by Francine

A photo of paperworkThe time has finally come for me to start my next adventure!  I’m moving to England to join my guy.  We haven’t seen each other for 7 months(!!).  I’m pretty darn excited and I’m super thankful that our time apart is over (and very thankful for all he’s done to prepare things in England for us).

While I’m terribly excited to start this new phase of life, it’s bittersweet.  I’ve gotten to know my parents’ little town, enjoyed serving customers at the Solar, helped get FarmerChef specials started, harvested spinach in the winter, laughed a lot with my little brother, made lots of tasty food, attended the local quilting club and spent countless hours on Skype. 

A photo of the lamb saladA few weeks ago, some local ladies surprised me by throwing a lovely spring shower in my honor.  We had a delightful lamb salad and lots of wine. :)  I was so touched by their kindness!

I will definitely continue this blogging project with my mom but only now we’ll be an ocean apart.  I look forward to sharing with you all the things I’m learning and discovering in England.  I’m sure there will be many girly shrieks as I get used to riding and driving on the wrong/right side of the road.  And of course, there will be lots of hugs and many smiles.

Wherever in the world you are reading this this, I wish you much happiness and springtime sunshine!

16 Responses to “Off to England!”

  1. Kathleen April 6, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    Minnesota misses you already!! Wishing you all the best on your new adventure, I’ll look forward to hearing your funny English stories. And we’ll hope the of two will return to Minnesota some day. We need talented, passionate, creative people like you in our community :) Take care and HAVE FUN!

    • realocalcooking April 6, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

      Thanks!! I’m so thankful that we met while I’ve been here. I wish all good things for you guys in your farming, toy making and rural MN adventures!

  2. Rachel@hammeringourwayhome April 6, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    I am so happy for you- reading this made me a lil misty eyed. MN will definitely miss you, just like Philadelphia has been! I’m really excited to hear your stories from England & super happy you’ll be continuing blogging from there. Sending you lots of love as you start your new journey!

    • realocalcooking April 6, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

      :D I was misty eyed as well as I wrote the post. Sniff, sniff. I’ll miss family and friends in the USA, but I can’t wait to see what’s in store for us! Every time I use the word super in place of very, I will think of you…my dear friend! Hugs!

  3. Debra Jones April 6, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

    Good Luck Francine!

  4. Corrine April 6, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    Hi Francine, thanks for sharing this story today… also, the asparagus recipe from yesterday looked interesting. I definetly will be watching for your fun adventures in England. What an exciting time for you. We are very happy for you that the time has finally arrived for you to fly across that ocean. Lots of Love and hugs, Grama

    • realocalcooking April 7, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

      Thanks Grandma and Grandpa! I’m also very happy that’s it’s time for me to travel across the ocean. I’ll keep you posted…lots of love!

  5. Dlishadressel Callanan April 6, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

    Tyler and I wish you all the best in England. Have fun and enjoy life! We hope to see you again sometime. Take care. Best wishes!
    Dlisha

    • realocalcooking April 7, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

      Thanks!! Next time I see Tyler, he’ll be even bigger! I hope you guys have a good birthday party…I’m bummed I’ll miss the car cake…facebook photos! :D

  6. Susan Walker April 8, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    Francine, I wish you all the best! Have fun and “mind the gap!”

  7. Julie April 8, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    Congratulations! We enjoyed a wonderful lunch at the Solar yesterday. I met your mom and she shared the news with me in person. I will look forward to reading your posts from across the pond. Best wishes!!!

    • realocalcooking April 10, 2012 at 3:33 am #

      Thanks Julie! I heard you came in for lunch and got some oil. I hope you enjoy it!

  8. Janet Panning April 11, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    Francine – we wish you all the very best for your next adventure!
    Janet & Steve

Leave a Reply

