Five First Impressions

13 Apr
by Francine

I made it!  My travels went smashingly and my unpacking has only resulted in piles of colourful clothing…getting some wardrobes is weekend project #1.

I thought I’d share with you a some of my first impressions.

1.  The word ‘daddy’ sounds exceedingly cuter when spoken with a tiny English accent.

2.  The standard British supermarket sells a wide variety of meat products. In the US, chicken and maybe turkey are the only birds you’ll find in the poultry section of a major supermarket. 

Here there are duck legs, whole ducks, whole guinea fowls even poussins, which I had to goggle to find out are chickens less than 28 days at slaughter!  And there are rows and rows of bacon. 

There are also more baked beans for sale then I’ve seen in my entire life; I guess it makes sense because (baked) beans and toast is a common thing to eat for breakfast. (I don’t think I’ll be adapting that tradition.)

3.  The cars are teeny.  I keep expecting Mr. Bean to crawl out of one.

4.  The spring flowers and greenery is lovely.  Tulips and daffodils are proudly lining up everywhere.

5.  There are lots of chimneys.

A photo of some houses

Have you visited or lived in England?  What were your first impressions?

5 Responses to “Five First Impressions”

  1. Julie April 13, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    Glad you’ve arrived safely! Look forward to hearing more !

    • Eeva April 14, 2012 at 2:00 am #

      Oh, that Mr. Bean thing made me laugh! Have a good start in England! Hugs!

  2. estariol217 April 14, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    ‘Smashingly’? You’re already starting to talk like a local. Good call on not partaking in the baked bean tradition, it’s hard to get over the BBQ pinic image beans have in the States!

  3. realocalcooking April 14, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    Francine,
    It looks like the land of muggles.
    -Mom

  4. Rachel@hammeringourwayhome April 18, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    “rows and rows of bacon”…can it be true?! I am unrepenting bacon fein. Can you snap a photo of this? And I say, try the beans! There’s a Irish brekkie place by me and their “Irish breakfast” includes a side of beans that looks delicious. I’ve never tried though bc the platter is huge..perhaps I will, in the name of research of course =]

Leave a Reply

