Red Rad Relish

24 May
by Francine

My mom, Deanne, loves radishes!  I remember that she would pile them high on her plate when we’d visit salad bars.  As a kid, I thought, ‘these pink vegetables must be really good since Mom eats so many of them.’ But yikes! too spicy for kid-me.  Adult-me loves the spicy crunch of a fresh radish!A photo of the radishes from our garden

Even though I’m in soggy England, I’ve been getting some MN sunshine in my inbox.  My brother sent me this photo last week after mom and dad dug the radishes from the garden and found all sizes and shapes of round red radishes. I know that Mom must have munched a handful of them raw before handing them over to my dad and brother, who whipped up this easy-to-make relish and served it with Quick and Crustless Quiche.

There are bags of radishes for sale in the supermarkets here.  They are English grown radishes and look just like the common red radish available in the USA.  I haven’t purchased any yet, but I think I may need to do so.  I’ll have the entire bag of radishes to myself since I’m the only one who likes them in our household.  :)

Do you pile your radishes high when you visit a salad bar? Have you ever seen a watermelon radish?

Radish Relish

(makes about one cup of relish)
Ingredients:
  • 1/2 cup cilantro leaves
  • 1 cup freshly scrubbed red radishes, cut in halft
  • 1Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 tsp olive oil (or any quality oil of your choice)
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • pinch black pepper
Directions:

Put all in food processor and pulse until a relish consistency is reached. 

Serve a spoonful with your favorite quiche, use instead of mayo in a sandwich for a kick or serve a bit on the side of a savoury dish for a springtime touch.

4 Responses to “Red Rad Relish”

  1. putneyfarm May 24, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    We love radishes- nice recipe. Thanks!

    • realocalcooking May 24, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by. I really like your photos!

      Here’s to radishes! :)

  2. estariol217 May 24, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    Look at those cute radishes! Kid-me and adult-me both don’t like radishes, but I can appreciate them in this relish and it would be good on a sandwich like you said!

    • realocalcooking May 25, 2012 at 4:13 am #

      They are cute! Thanks for sending me the photo brother!

Leave a Reply

