Salad Greens on our Balcony

30 May
by Francine

A photo of the spinach seedsA week ago we bought spinach, mixed green lettuce and wild rocket seeds.  We also bought some soil and the cheapest containers we could find at the garden centre.

We carefully planted the seeds in very moist soil and set the containers on our balcony, which gets a healthy dose of late afternoon and evening sunshine.

This is my first attempt at container gardening.  I’ll be sure to post about how it goes.  A photo one week in

It seems that one advantage of growing vegetables on a balcony is that we won’t have hungry rabbits nibbling at our lettuce…that is unless there are stealthy ninja bunnies in our neighborhood.

A photo all three one week in

Do you grow vegetables on your balcony?  Do you have any container gardening tips?  And most importantly…have you ever encountered a ninja bunny?  :)

6 Responses to “Salad Greens on our Balcony”

  1. estariol217 May 30, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    Ninja bunnies! You better watch out for those. Good luck on your gardening.

  2. Rachel@hammeringourwayhome May 30, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    I’ve tried container gardening with poor results I attempted tomatoes which just never really grew–despite the plants growing pretty tall & flowering. I’ve also tried tons of herbs that never worked out for me. I think I didn’t give it proper patience/care. I would really really love to get good at it though. So practical to do in a city. I think I’m going to attempt raised beds at the new house though since I’ll have a backyard. Hope yours continue to grow!

    • realocalcooking May 31, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

      Tomatoes sound like a lot more work. I’m hoping that I can kind of forget about the lettuce and just watch it grow, but we’ll see. I hope you do try raised beds in your yard..if you have any questions when it gets time to build them, let us know. AND I’m thinking about you guys…I hope you had a productive Memorial Day weekend!!

  3. Corrine May 30, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Ninja bunnies. Humm! Wonder if they are anything like Snow Snakes? Your Mom or Brian could tell you all about those from their childhood ski adventures. Grma

Leave a Reply

