A Jubilee Coronation Chicken Salad

5 Jun
by Francine

Patriotic bunting has been strung all over England. Diamond Jubilee meals, special offers and limited edition biscuits (cookies) and teas line the shelves of every shop and supermarket.  It’s been fun to see another form of red, white and blue.

I decided to combine elements of two classic dishes—each of which were created for a queen—and create a my own version of very English dish.

Coronation Chicken is a cold chicken salad with many variations that is readily available in cafes and tea rooms around England. Coronation Chicken is cold chicken chunks mixed with mayonnaise and curry flavour (from curry powder). I’ve seen some recipes that call for dried apricots, raisins, mango chutney and green onions to be mixed in.  It was created in 1952 for Queen Elizabeth’s coronation.

Cherries Jubilee is a dessert of cherries and brandy which is then flambéed. It was created for one of Queen Victoria’s Jubilees, but there’s debate about if it was for her Golden or Diamond Jubilee.

 Even though you might not be in England to see red, white and blue of a different variety, you can join in the celebrations by trying a new kind of chicken salad.A photo of the sandwich

A Jubilee Coronation Chicken Salad

(serves 3-4)
Ingredients:
  • 12oz  chicken breast (cooked, chilled, cut and then lightly shredded)
  • 3 Tbsp mayonnaise
  • 3/4 tsp curry powder
  • 1/4 cup dried cherries, roughly cut
  • 2 Tbsp walnuts, roughly cut
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • a dash of black pepper
  • splash of lemon juiceA photo of the Salad
Directions:

Cook the chicken, either by baking or sautéing it over medium heat with a little bit of oil. Lightly salt the chicken breasts before or during cooking.

Once cooked, chill for at least for 30-45 minutes. Then dice the chicken into small cubes and place in a medium sized mixing bowl. Next lightly mash the chicken with a fork.

Add the mayonnaise and evenly coat the chicken. After that sprinkle the curry powder over the entire mixture and stir again to evenly mix the curry powder.

Then toss in the roughly cut dried cherries and walnuts and season with salt, black pepper and a splash of lemon juice.

Mix well and serve chilled over salad OR make it into a sandwich with fresh bread or maybe even a pita!

(A BIG thanks to Luke for helping with this recipe!)

Coronation Chicken

7 Responses to “A Jubilee Coronation Chicken Salad”

  1. Year Of Healthier Living June 5, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    This looks lovely! I think I know what we are having for supper tonight! We will be celebrating from across the sea :-)

  2. Rachel@hammeringourwayhome June 5, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Yum, I LOVE chicken salad! Adding curry powder sounds interesting, I’ll have to give it a whirl next time I make some.

    • realocalcooking June 5, 2012 at 10:17 am #

      I LOVE chicken salad too! But I always forget until I make some and then I think, YUM! why don’t I do this more often!? I like that you can add crunchy things to chicken salad, like fruit, nuts and celery. I hope you can make it soon (in your new kitchen…fingers crossed)!

  3. Cheap Luxury June 5, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    I love the addition of the dried fruit! I must admit I had never tried coronation chicken until this weekend and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed it! Thanks for linking back to our post with the original recipe :)

    • realocalcooking June 5, 2012 at 10:15 am #

      It was the correct weekend to give it whirl. I’m glad that you posted the original recipe that was fit for a queen! Thanks for your comment! :)

  4. estariol217 June 5, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    I can attest, this dish is mighty tasty! The thought of adding curry powder to chicken salad never crossed my mind. It works so well and the crunchy walnuts and tart dried cherries were delicious. Yum!

Leave a Reply

