Rhubarb Camelina Streusel Scones

12 Jun
by Deanne

Recently Francine and I discovered that we’ve both been baking in the middle of the night…and both of us have been baking treats with rhubarb!

First I made Rhubarb Streusel Muffins using Smitten Kitchen’s recipe. I made a few changes in the streusel  portion of the recipe because I wanted to see what it would be like to use Omega Maiden Camelina Oil instead of butter.  I also like walnuts so added nuts.

I liked the way the streusel with camelina oil turned out so I decided to use it in my favorite (and very adaptable) scone recipe. The unique taste of the camelina oil got along well with the sweet seasonings and nicely complimented the tart rhubarb.

Camelina Streusel  for Rhubarb Streusel Muffins and Scones

  • ½ cup all purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 3 Tbsp brown sugar
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon
  • a pinch of nutmeg
  • a pinch of salt
  • 2 Tbsp camelina oil (buy it here)
  •  ¼ cups nuts, coarsely chopped

Mix together. I set aside one third of the streusel to mix into the muffins and I used the rest to top the muffins before baking.  You can also use this streusel in the same way, but to make scones instead of muffins (see recipe below).  Also, try using any leftover streusel on your morning oatmeal or even as ice cream topping!A photo of the Rhubarb Camelina Streusel Muffin

Here’s the scone recipe I created by adapting our basic scone recipe so that I could use streusel and fresh rhubarb.

Rhubarb Streusel Scones

Ingredients:
  • 2 cups flour (whole wheat or all purpose work well)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • ¾ cup streusel mixture (see recipe above)
  •  1 cup rhubarb,  cut into ¼ inch pieces
  • 1 cup sour cream (recipe usually calls for cream)
Directions:

Mix dry ingredients together in a large bowl.  Then add rhubarb and sour cream and gently mix together. 

Turn dough onto lightly floured surface and knead lightly. Then form into a large round shape and cut into triangular pieces.

Brush each scone with an egg wash and sprinkle with streusel before baking in a preheated oven at 375 degrees for 18 minutes.

A photo of the Rhubarb Camelina Streusel SconeHave you ever made scones?  If not I encourage you to try making this recipe or our original basic recipe, it’s so easy and uses cream/sour cream in place of the usual butter. 

(Francine says these scones aren’t exactly authentically English, but that it doesn’t matter because they are good!) :)

 

8 Responses to “Rhubarb Camelina Streusel Scones”

  1. Kathleen June 12, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

    I’m always amazed at your non-stop creativity and energy in the kitchen, Deanne! Thanks for getting creative with the camelina oil, I’m hoping to try these soon myself…

    • realocalcooking June 12, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

      Thanks Kathleen. Your suggestions on your recipe cards and Ms. Omega Maiden are my inspiration.

      • realocalcooking June 13, 2012 at 4:51 am #

        Hehe…Ms. Omega Maiden.
        from Francnie ;)

  2. Corrine June 29, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    Well, you inspired me to make the rhubard streusel scones yesterday. Very Yummy!
    I love scones! I didn’t have the Camelina Oil … so I am sure they weren’t as good as yours. But inspired me to get some ordered… which I also did last night. Can’t wait till it arrives!!

  3. Rose Taylor November 2, 2012 at 8:59 am #

    They look so lovely! I haven’t tried making these yet. Your recipe would be my first. Wish me luck!

    • realocalcooking November 2, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

      Rose, have you ever heard of Camelina Oil? It is an unique ingredient high in Omega 3s. Thanks for stopping by.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rhubarb Scones with Camelina Streusel | - June 19, 2012

    […] Guest Post: Rhubarb Camelina Streusel Scones […]

Leave a Reply

