A Berry Good Day

14 Jun
by Deanne

On a lovely sunny, but not hot, June morning three generations of our family (myself, son Luke [photographer and video-maker] and my in-laws)A photo of the strawberry field loaded as many plastic containers as we could find into the car and drove southwest until we turned right on a road appropriately called Berry Lane.

While the four of us have varying degrees of strawberry picking experience, we quickly got to work and began picking all the strawberries from our assigned row.  We couldn’t help but smile and dream about all the things we’re hoping to make with our strawberry bounty.A photo of the strawberries

It was our day off from restaurateur-ing, but not from preparing great food. When we returned, we blew the dust off of Mary’s best gluten-free waffle recipe and whipped up a delightful reward for all of our berry picking efforts. We let Steve, who stayed back to do a few restaurant chores, share in our brunch as well.;)

Oatmeal Waffles

Recipe  from GF Harvest with our adaption notedA photo of the waffeles
Ingredients:
  • 1 ½ cups gluten free flour blend (we used a blend of brown rice+potato flour+xanthan gum, but you can use your preferred gluten free flour blend)
  • 1 cup gluten Free rolled Oats
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder (we used ¾ Tbsp based on past experience)
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1 ½ cups milk (we used soy milk to make it dairy free)
  • 6 Tbsp butter, melted (we used canola oil to make it dairy free)
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
Directions:

In large mixing bowl, stir together all dry ingredients.

In a separate bowl, mix eggs, milk, butter, and brown sugar. Add to dry ingredient and stir until blended.

Bake in lightly-greased waffle iron until golden brown.

We served these waffles loaded with our freshly picked strawberries cut into chunks.

A photo of the strawberriesRelaxing after this breakfast treat, my ambitious and very busy twenty-something son said, “I want more days like this in my life.”

Well said Luke!

In this ReaLocal Cooking journey that Francine and I have undertaken, I’m starting to realize that slowing down and preparing delicious wholesome food together as a family is the best form of entertainment.

At times like this, we all miss Francine. Thank goodness for our ability to imagine…I can already picture the day we’ll discover a local treat and prepare it together when we visit them in England this fall.  Until then, this day was berry good.

Have you been strawberry picking?  Do you have plans to pick some strawberries this June? Any ideas about what you’d like to prepare with the berries?

9 Responses to “A Berry Good Day”

  1. howsyourlovelife June 14, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

    I just made 11 jars of freezer jam with our gorgeous berries! Thanks for the post!

  2. estariol217 June 14, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    This is a berry good post!

  3. Corrine June 14, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    Oh Yummy!! Yummy!! — recalling my strawberry picking experience…. I was 10 years old… living in NE… my first job … earned myself 10 cents a basket… enough to buy 2 Ice Cream Cones for me and my sis at Fritz’s Soda Shop. (I didn’t get to keep the berries).
    Great photography Luke! Sounds like you all turned it into lots of fun too.

    • realocalcooking June 14, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

      What a fun memory Grandma…thanks for sharing! Too bed you didn’t get to keep the berries, but I bet you were able to sneak a few in during the picking, I know I would have done that!

  4. Julie June 14, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    We’ve always missed the berry picking time at Schumacher’s. These strawberries look beautiful and juicy. Love the waffles recipe.

  5. Ana June 16, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    Great post…and photos! Are you the photographer?

    • realocalcooking June 17, 2012 at 5:18 am #

      Thanks! I leave photography to my kids…my son Luke took them. My daughter Francine blogs with me and she takes photos as well.

Leave a Reply

