A Strawberry Rhubarb Frozen Treat…3 Ways

19 Jun
by Deanne

When we lived in Philadelphia, we met water ice.  It was love at first frozen bite.  If you’re from another area of the East Coast, you might call water ice ‘Italian ice.’ Italian ice is different from ice cream and sherbet because it’s free of dairy.  And it’s different than shaved ice because the flavors are frozen in the ice instead of just dumped on top.  One common way of having Italian ice is to have it with thick frozen custard, this combination is confusingly referred to as gelato (which is an Italian style of ice cream).  Okay, so I think I’ve caught you up on all of the water ice terms. ;)

With water ice on the mind and warm temperatures outside, I’ve been experimenting with rhubarb. strawberry, water and honey, to see if I could re-create a treat similar to Italian ice. 

Well, I think I did it!  Last week we served up three icy treats at our restaurant. We had straight up Italian ice, soda water mixed with Italian ice for a slushy Italian soda and ice cream+Italian ice for a ‘gelato’ type of treat.A photo of Italian iceA photo of Italian ice sodaA photo of ice cream and italian iceThe recipe is still very much a work in progress, so I won’t share it here, but I will tell you what we did.  We cooked the rhubarb until is was a thick applesauce-like sauce. Then we added some vanilla, a little salt and honey. We also added mashed up fresh strawberries.  The trick is to get the sugar content higher than the water content so that it doesn’t freeze solid.

Are you staying cool this June?  Have you ever had Italian ice?  If so, what’s your favorite flavor. 

If you haven’t yet experienced Italian ice, we hope you’ll b able to do so sometime….Rita’s, a franchise that started outside Philly and serves Italian ice, has locations in many states.  Or you can always stop by Solar, the next time we freeze-up a batch!

PS…Thanks Luke for the great photos!

7 Responses to “A Strawberry Rhubarb Frozen Treat…3 Ways”

  1. Cassie June 19, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    Wow that looks delicious and I love your mason jar serving bowl!

    • realocalcooking June 19, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

      Thanks! Mason jars are fun..there are so many uses for them. :)

  2. Julie June 19, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    Delicious treats! Mason jars are everywhere these days. I’ve started making an overnight oatmeal in them. I posted about the Camelina Oil Dressing. Thanks for a great recipe.

  3. estariol217 June 19, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    This was so tasty! I always use to order cherry water ice + soft serve when we went out for a treat growing up! I think the best water ice was at the one joint in Hatfield. Yum!

  4. Rachel@hammeringourwayhome June 20, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    Love the mason jar servings. I’m on the hunt for some mason jars to stock my cupboards at home. I’ve decided these are way more fun to drink out of then ‘normal’ glasses (including wine!)

  5. Corrine June 20, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

    This sounds d’lish! I’ve heard lots of yummy stories about the “water ice from Hatfield”… but somehow I never got any of the tasty treat. Guess I’ll need to stop in for this special treat at the Solar.

    • realocalcooking June 26, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

      Yes, I suppose we talked a lot about water ice, especially in the summer. I hope they make this treat again sometime…it sounds good!

Leave a Reply

