Adventures in Raspberry Jamming

17 Jul
Hi there! Today our friend D’Lisha is sharing her recent FarmerChef experience.  D’Lisha works with us at our restaurant; and her family is definitely into growing and eating real food…last fall she brought us some beautiful red tomatoes. We’ve never made jam (or canned anything for that matter!) so it was interesting and helpful to hear about her experience.

Adventures in Raspberry Jamming

Hello Real Local Cookers!  Thank you to Deanne and Francine for inviting me to share my experience of making raspberry jam for the first time.

Last week was hot and muggy, but I had the opportunity to gather raspberries from the family farm.  There’s a large patch that grows wild; my father-in-law found it in the grove this year.   (For those of you that don’t live in on the prairie, a grove is a bunch of trees strategically planted as a  windbreak.)   In addition to the wild bushes hidden among the trees, my husband, Brian, also has an established patch in one of our many garden spaces.  As our buckets grew full and I chased my energetic 3 year old, Tyler, in and out of the grove, I knew that whatever I made with these berries, it would need to be straightforward and somewhat quick since most of my is spent running after my little man.

A photo of raspberry jamI found this quick and easy recipe on the Seattle Examiner’s Farmers’ Market recipes.  The recipe only called for berries and sugar and promised to take less than an hour to make a few jars. Hooray! Just the ticket, I thought as Tyler climbed to the highest point of our couch, ready to jump from his imaginary mountain.

I’m new to jams so I was unsure how to seal the jars after I got the jam ready. Thank goodness for all the information on the internet! There are many ways to seal jam jars. I discovered that most people use the hot water bath method.

Meanwhile I had purchased Gulf Wax (household paraffin wax) at our local grocery store. I saw that it was for canning and many other uses…who would have thought that you could seal jars and wax a surf board with the same product!!  I was a little put off by its many waxy uses, but I was still willing to find out more about using wax for canning. The more I researched, I found it was not the safest product to use. If you don’t get a good seal you could encounter mold problems in your jams and jellies…and no one wants moldy jam!!

I decided that the best jam jar-sealing method for my family would be to get the jam ready while boiling the lids and jars and preparing the sugar+berry jam mixture.  The recipe I found was very easy to follow.  But next time I would use a different pot and a big whisk, if you use a spoon to stir the boiling jam mixture for 15 minutes you’re bound to get a few burns, like I did…oops!A photo of raspberry jam

After the jam reached my desired consistency, I carefully poured it into the already hot jars (which I’d boiled when making the jam).  Then I put the lids on and flipped them upside down and left them until they were cool to touch which was about an hour. By the time I flipped the jars back over, they were cooled and a nice seal had formed.

I’m so glad that I figured out how to make raspberry jam! My family has been enjoying our raspberry jam with bread I made.  That is a first too!  Tyler really likes to eat the jam on vanilla ice cream.

Have you ever made raspberry jam?  Which method for sealing the jars do you use?

Thanks again for letting me share my FarmerChef experience.  Happy jamming everyone!

Aren’t these hedgehogs by Anne Solfud cute!?  Francine loves hedgehogs and Deanne went strawberry picking a few weeks ago…perfect!

5 Responses to “Adventures in Raspberry Jamming”

  1. Kathleen July 17, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    YUMMY!

  2. Year Of Healthier Living July 17, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    We made raspberry jam for the first time this year, and it is by far totally superior to store bought! Welcome to canning!!!

    • realocalcooking July 26, 2012 at 9:41 am #

      Nice! Canning is a fun project and you’re right, it’s so much better than store bought jams!

  3. Jodie Callanan July 19, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    What a lovely story to share! I have heard comments that your jam tastes awesome! Good job. If you have the freezer space, I like to freeze small little batches in butter bowls – it keeps a long time and thaws very nicely.

  4. Corrine July 21, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    Hi D’ Lishia, loved your story on Raspberry Jamming! Brings back memories of my jam making days.

Leave a Reply

