Look what I found!

7 Aug
by Francine

A photo of blackberriesA photo of the refernce bookI was cycling along this afternoon and I spotted some blackberries along the lane.  I ate a few ripe ones then and there!

And then I had a look in a reference book when I got home to confirm that I hadn’t just eaten poison-berries. ;)

Thankfully I had an empty container in my bag (that previously contained a eat-at-my-desk snack).  There weren’t too many ripe berries, but I did manage to pick a few.  I’ll definitely stop back in the next few days to pick some more…fingers crossed no one else spots them. A photo of my bikeBicycle and blackberries in a box.

Are there blackberries to pick where you live?

p.s…Do you like my bicycle?  I don’t go very fast, but it sure is fun to ride!

4 Responses to “Look what I found!”

  1. Rachel@hammeringourwayhome August 7, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    First, I’m excited to read a post by you (though your mom is doing a GREAT job in your absence!). The bicycle-black-berry-picking is so charming. When I read you ate them I nearly gasped and then laughed when you you confirmed they weren’t poison-berries, haha. What else is going on with you in the new life? Love your bike, by the way!

    • realocalcooking August 13, 2012 at 11:03 am #

      Aww…thanks Rach! Yes, my mom is doing an awesome job with posts. In between sampling roadside berries, I’m working and job searching. (The job’s only temporary so I’m looking for something long term.) I too like my bike, but it doesn’t go as fast as Scott’s (he has a light weight road bike and I have a look-around-admire-the-flowers bike). :) xo

  2. Corrine August 7, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    Francine, Yes I have been blackberry picking. We have tons of blackberry bushes on our trails. I have been 3 or 4 times this year. They haven’t been very big this year but they were still good, but not as good looking as the ones in your picture. Enjoy them! Grampa Jim

    • realocalcooking August 9, 2012 at 9:20 am #

      That’s fun that you have blackberries too! Have you made anything with them? I guess the rain here is good for something…making plump berries!

Leave a Reply

