Photos of Scotney Castle…continued

15 Sep
by Francine

It was gloriously sunny and perfectly warm last weekend so we headed to Kent (a county over) to visit Scotney Castle. A photo of the castleThis property and its landscaper garden is a well-known example of the Picturesque style, which literally means “in the manner of a picture; fit to be made into a picture.”  The castle was first built in the 13oo’s and it may or may not have ever been completed.  Then in the late 1700’s the family decided to build a house on the hill which over looked the castle ruins.  The owners then created a magnificent garden with the moated castle ruin being the main feature (sheesh…most people use gnomes or flamingos as focal point of their garden;).

A photo of a flower and the castle

A photo of the castle

A photo of the castle

A photo of the castle's reflection

A photo of the stairsSteps for a princess?

A photo of the gardenThis part of the garden was behind the main tower you can see in the photos above.  It was ruinous, calm and overgrown.  Favourite. 

A photo of a flowerA photo of the sunA photo of the gateBye bye Picturesque garden.

A photo of sheep And one more photo of meditative sheep because I spent a long time watching them.

8 Responses to “Photos of Scotney Castle…continued”

  1. Mary Jane September 15, 2012 at 6:29 am #

    Francine, you have to compile your photos and make a “coffee table” book. Over the years you have taken so many wonderful pictures that you need to put together. Love the pictures, especially the “droopy flower”! They are all beautiful, can you imagine looking out your window to that beauty. Thank you for sharing.

    • realocalcooking September 20, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

      I’m glad you liked the droopy flower, that was one of my favorite shots too. It would be fun to make a photo book with snapshots from around the world. Looking back at the photos of the castle, I’m amazed by its beauty, it helped that it was a bright blue day full of colours.

  2. Corrine September 15, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    Hi Francine, I am loving your pictures! Keep it up… and I agree with Mary, I hope you are compiling all your pictures some way special. The castle looks so fun to explore and I love those sheep. Reminds me of the little lambs and their mommies that were in the field behind our house in Boise…. I spent a lot of time just watching them.

    • alderandash September 17, 2012 at 5:18 am #

      Lovely photos! What an amazing place…

    • realocalcooking September 20, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

      I also love watching sheep. We spent a long time in the shade watching those sheep. I’m glad that you’re able to visit the places I visit through the photos I take.

  3. calmyourbeans September 17, 2012 at 8:39 am #

    Reblogged this on calmyourbeans.

  4. Rachel@hammeringourwayhome September 17, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    As always, beautiful. A moated castle? so lovely. I love that they leave part of it wild and overgrown. Also, my aunt traced our family back to England, 1310, so that was kind of a cool reference to see it’s from the 1300’s. SHARE MORE ENGLAND, puhlease!

    • realocalcooking September 20, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

      Hello Lady Rachel…;) I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. It was a rather pinch-me-this-is-amazing day trip! I’m planning to share more England now that I have a job and my mind is not obsessed with…you must have a full time job thoughts. Woot!

Leave a Reply

