Home Sweet Tomato

26 Sep
by Deanne

Like most gardeners who travel in late summer, we returned home to the reality of lots and lots of tomatoes. 

Thanks to my in-laws, the tomatoes were already picked and ready to be processed.   They where even so kind as to cover our raised beds for a few chilly Minnesota nights while we were away.

Photo of Tomatoes Waiting to Be Processed

Here is what we found in our commercial kitchen’s walk-in cooler.

My mother in-law shared an idea from a blog called Squash House Quilts.

It includes four simple steps: 

1. Washing

2. Cutting

3.  Roasting – include a drizzle of olive oil and garlic and salt and pepper, roast in 350 oven for about two hours

4. Blending- add some fresh basil.  (I forgot the basil but it was still good)

Check out the original post with beautiful pictures.

Photo of Tomatoes for Roasting

Photo of Roasted Tomatoes

Hmm….what should I make with my sauce?Photo of tomatoes in blender

13 Responses to “Home Sweet Tomato”

  1. Year Of Healthier Living September 26, 2012 at 7:50 am #

    We made this all summer and I gave a nice supply frozen for winter!! Just made a lasagna with eggplant slices instead of noodles and this roasted sauce. Yum!!!

    • realocalcooking September 26, 2012 at 9:50 am #

      That sounds wonderful. I checked out your blog for the recipe found a post and will have to try.

      Note: For any readers that want to try this here is the post.

  2. Rachel@hammeringourwayhome September 26, 2012 at 8:07 am #

    We’ve been waiting all summer for our tomatoes to come. We worried we planted too late (we probably did) but they’ve just begun sprouting a bunch of green ones, so keeping our fingers crossed for some late picks. Toasted baguette, tomato slices with olive oil, oregano, and some crushed garlic, salt and pepper, YUM!

    • realocalcooking September 26, 2012 at 9:43 am #

      That is interesting that your tomatoes are still green. If they never turn red before frost you can pick them and they will still ripen.

      I checked our your blog again and LOVE the shower. It doesn’t look like it was hard to say goodbye to the outdoor shower. I have to admit an outdoor shower is a very romantic notion but I suppose not so practical.

  3. Susan September 26, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    What gorgeous tomatoes! Ours from the community garden are all gone… thank you white tailed deer. I will have to give this recipe a try with farmer’s market tomatoes which happens tonight.

  4. Terri at Time To Be Inspired September 26, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    Was thinking of what to do with the tomatoes from my mom’s garden, and I think this is it. I love the idea of roasting!

    • realocalcooking September 27, 2012 at 8:34 am #

      I was excited to discover this way to process tomatoes. I always dislike the idea of tossing out the skins the way it is usually recommended for canning. This way the whole tomato gets used.

  5. Terri at Time To Be Inspired October 4, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Okay, so it took me until today to do the tomatoes, and they smell heavenly. I’m really impressed with how the volume reduces, as it will make it much easier to find room in the freezer!

    • realocalcooking October 6, 2012 at 7:19 am #

      We liked the technique too! Roasting as adds so much flavor. Thanks for reporting back to us on how they turned out.

      • Terri at Time To Be Inspired October 6, 2012 at 11:07 am #

        Good news, my mom is sending me more tomatoes tomorrow. I did pass on the roasting suggestion so perhaps she’ll do some too!

Leave a Reply

