Our Pick Your Own Adventure

6 Oct
by Francine

I’m familiar with pick your own strawberries and pick your own apples, but pick your own kohlrabi and broccoli (!!?) sign me up!  Two weekends ago, we spent an entire afternoon at Garson’s PYO Farm, with 30+ crops you have to drive around to the different fields, but once we found the fields we got lost in rows of sweetcorn, jumped over pumpkins and spent a very long time in the raspberry bushes (there were SO many!!). 

Here’s some photos of what we discovered.  We plan to visit again this weekend to get some more apples and, of course, some pumpkins.  Hopefully next growing season we can rely only on pick your own for all of our produce needs.

A photo of kohlrabiMassive kohlrabi just waiting to be turning into some fresh Kohlslaw.

a photo of the applesSo many tasty English apples.

a photo of pumpkins

A patchwork of pumpkins.

a photo of cabbageThe purple cabbage was very tender.  I made some tasty slaws.  There was also broccoli for picking.  I picked a few bouquets and turned it into an American favourite…broccoli slaw!!

a photo of squashLook what I found…an ambercup squash. I wrote about this squash last fall in my series on squash.

a photo of runner beansI discovered a new bean…the runner bean.  As you can see runner beans are very long, you can eat the same way you standard green beans, cut up, steamed and tossed in butter.  But I decided to cut ours thinly and add to coleslaw for more crunch.

a photo of raspberriesI’d probably still be in the raspberry patch stuffing my face if it was up to me.

A photo of a sunflowerCute bees.

Have you picked your own everything?  Are you still harvesting from your own garden? I’d love to hear.

4 Responses to “Our Pick Your Own Adventure”

  1. Rachel@hammeringourwayhome October 6, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    Hi Franny! Nice to see a post from you! The field seems so awesome. I love that you can collect so many different types of things. I recently watched a documentary about honeybees and something they were talking about was how in the US farmers have switched to mono agriculture (i’m probably remembering the term wrong). You guys must know way more about this than I do…and I’d love to learn more about it from you guys. I guess it mainly applies to the huge farms here, but it was kinda troubling to learn about. Anyway, glad you found a place for all your produce needs. Our tomato plants are still sprouting flowers but the fruit remains plump and green. Suppose we ought just take them off the vine now, as it’s supposed to drop to 42 degrees tom. On that note, got a good green tomato recipe?! xo

    • realocalcooking October 21, 2012 at 7:31 am #

      Hi Rachel! Yes my posts are less frequent now that I’m working full time. :( I don’t know how you work full time, rebuild a house and still manage to have a life! (My hat goes off to people with kids!!) But I’m super thankful that I have a full time job.

      Anyways…my dad told me that also recently watched a doc about honeybees! He’s working on a post to answer your question:D…you ask good questions!! It might be a bit late but if you still have green tomatoes maybe you could make them into a salsa verde or a green tomato soup. I made green tomato soup last fall and I thought about making salsa verde but my tomatoes turned red before I got around to that.

      You may have discovered this already but if you pick them green and let them chill out inside your warm house they’ll slowly turn red. Wish that we could hang out for reals in your backyard eating fried green tomatoes. xo!!

  2. Tara October 7, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    My garden is done here in Minnesota. We’ve had many cold nights already and I just harvested almost all of my Speckled Cranberry Beans to use for seed for next year and (if I have any extra) eat as dried beans. They are BEAUTIFUL and were very hardy for us this year. They even managed to fend off all the Japanese Beetles! Miss you Francine! Hugs.

    • realocalcooking October 21, 2012 at 7:24 am #

      Tara! So lovely to hear about your garden…I don’t think I’ve ever seen it in full bloom as it seems I always visited you in the winter time. :) I googled speckled cranberry beans and they are gorgeous! Cool that they are a natural way to fend off Japanese Beetles; I’ll tell my dad about it because I think he’s always looking for natural ways to combat crop eaters. Thanks for your comment! I miss you too!! xo!

Leave a Reply

