Bye Bye Blueberries

2 Nov
by Deanne

We’ve been reading story after story about how eating whole, mostly plant based foods has helped people heal their bodies in remarkable ways.  That is why Steve and I decided to start a business that is focused on teaching people about cooking with real food ingredients and creating a few products with ingredients that stand out so people can easily decide whether or not they want to eat them because of allergies or food intolerance.Photo of Blueberries from Focus 28 Diet website

Yogurt,milk, blueberries, green peppers, ginger, black pepper, and sesame seeds are a few of the “good for you foods” that I recently discovered could be triggering my immune system and causing troublesome symptoms. 

Lately I have been eating a lot of blueberries because my favorite brain doctor guru Dr. Amen, writes that they were good for the brain.   In fact, blueberries usually head the list of superfoods.

So, learning that blueberries and the other foods mentioned  above could be the source of some of my symptoms is a big a head scratcher.  Unfortunately the message that my little brain can handle is :  There are good foods and bad foods, but I’m learning that it’s much bigger than this either or option.

It would be nice if that were that simple.  It is true that whole foods have many beneficial properties, but the complexity comes in when an individual’s unhealthy or compromised immune systems interact with the food. 

In July, I discovered certain foods were aggravating what I called “my allergies.”  When I stopped eating dairy products, my sinuses cleared and I could breath through my nose.  Wow, what a big change for me who has been largely ignoring  my chronic symptoms for years.  I just wrote them off as, “That is just the way I am.  I have allergies.”  It turns out that foods really do impact allergies.  It is called oral allergy syndrome. For example I noticed when I ate a peach, I sneezed and my eyes watered.  Photo of peaches

Still something doesn’t quite feel right.  I still get a sore throat after eating certain foods and have a tooth ache that has been lingering for years.  When I visited the dentist, he said the tooth was healthy according the x-ray.  In search of a solution I recently choose to take The ALCAT Test.

This blood test was helpful to my son as he sought a solution to persistent acne.  So when I found that my chiropractor was now offering the test, I decided to have one done.  Here is an explanation from the company that produces the test and explains their approach:

Recent scientific discoveries have revealed increasingly deeper levels of understanding of how food interacts with our immune system affecting metabolism in ways that can be either beneficial or detrimental.  Chronic activation of the immune system and chronic inflammation that it produces is not only the common feature of modern diseases of aging, but also its major underlying cause.

The “wrong” food, although it may be “healthful” for most people, will induce inflammation.  The immune system aims to damage the food, which it mistakes as a harmful invader, such as bacteria, parasite or virus, but also ends up damaging our own body.  Long term exposure can even trigger auto-immunity, where the immune system actively attack our own tissues and bodily structures.

I am early in the process of eating a variety of foods that are compatible for me.  The idea is to take the foods, non-reactive according to a blood test, and rotate them daily so we don’t develop an intolerance to more foods. One superfood, I can eat every other day is spinach another is green tea.  The good news is:  people who eliminate troublesome foods from their diet for about six months are able to introduce them back into a diet that is balanced and rotates on a daily basis.

As I move further along the path to optimal health, I am more enlightened about the idea of good and bad foods.  While I am a bit sad about temporarily saying good bye to blueberries, I know that when blueberry season comes, I will have a healthy immune system and it will be time to introduce them back into a balanced rotational diet.   Perhaps there is something else to be learned about my own symptoms that might not be addressed with this approach. I am sure it won’t be easy, so I’ll keep you posted.

Have you heard about food intolerance? Some of the symptoms that tell us something us up with our immune system and chronic activation due to food intolerance are:

Digestive Disorders

Migraines

Obesity

Chronic Fatigue

ADD/ADHD

Skin Disorders

Arthritis

and as the brochure says….many more.

5 Responses to “Bye Bye Blueberries”

  1. Jill Weber VanDerWal November 12, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    Hi Deanne,

    I really enjoyed reading about your research. Very thought provoking. Thank you. I will share this with my Tim.

    Hope you and all are well.

    Jill

    • realocalcooking November 13, 2012 at 3:55 am #

      Hi Jill,

      I am glad you found it helpful. We are spending two weeks with Francine and Scott. It is very pretty.

  2. Judith Hainaut March 27, 2014 at 10:01 am #

    I took the AlCAT test many years ago to confirm my dairy intolerance (to the protein not the lactose) and other allergies as well. One of my daughters is allergic to some of the fruits also. I feel fortunate that I can eat blueberries but congratulations to you on pinning down some of the causes of your problems.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What if ….bloggers decided to join together and promote healthy snacks? - March 12, 2014

    […] Have you noticed that there are many bloggers who are avoiding processed food for snacking?  These bloggers are already influencing the people who read their blogs and the people that live and work in their life.  Many bloggers I read have chosen to go the real food route because of health or allergies. […]

Leave a Reply

