Questions Upon a Castle:Two Days in Edinburgh

14 Dec
by Deanne

Edinburgh Castle: The guidebooks told me it was there but it didn’t capture my attention.  Then I wandered in and out, up and down seeing Mons Meg, a deep dark dungeon, and the precise room where Mary Queen of Scots gave birth to the future king, James I of England.Photo of Edinburgh Castle

 

Traveling and adventure gives me time to ponder.  Since this is my first visit to a castle, I wondered:

Photo of a Knight

Where did my own childhood fantasy take shape?  How I did I know to imagine sitting on a throne and  tossing evil doers into the dungeon?

Why did my brother, and most of the young boys I have known, pretend they were knights protecting a kingdom?

Photo of Gate at Edinburgh CastleMy most important question is…

Why does this towering relic, a symbol of so much collective human suffering, captivate my imagination?

Besides the castle, here are a few places we’d recommend:

Edinburgh City Hotel:  Built in 1879, the original Memorial Hospital dedicated to Sir James Young Simpson.  It is a lovely building, now transformed into a modern, very appealing, central yet quietly located 3 star comfortable hotel.

The Elephant House:  Famed as one of the places that JK Rowling sat writing much of her early novels about a boy named Harry Potter in the back room overlooking Edinburgh Castle.  We ate lunch there after a tour of the castle and before a trip to the National Museum of Scotland.

Dusit Thai:  Tucked away on Thistle Street, a unique Thai restaurant.

Caffe Nero:  A chain coffee place, with two very friendly baristas.  It is one of the few places open for an early morning breakfast before our bus tour.

Tour Guide Mike of Rabbie’s Trail Burners:  He proved to be an excellent storyteller and made our tour of the Scottish Highlands memorable.

The photos are compliments of Luke Bryce who toured Edinburgh Castle twelve days prior to me on a sunny day. For more pictures of Edinburgh check out Luke’s Flicker album.

Photo of a View of Edinburgh from the castle

 

Leave a Reply

