Maple Walnut Biscotti

7 May

By Deanne

Tapping maple trees is something people in Vermont do…right?  And they tap the trees in the fall or early winter… or so I thought.

Two weeks ago a friend mentioned they had to get home to take care of the maple sap they were boiling to make syrup.  I was surprised and ask her about it.  Then a few days later her daughter and son-in-law arrived with jar of maple syrup as a gift.  I learned that the best time to collect the sap from the maple trees is when the temperature is in the 30’s to 40’s with overnight lows below freezing.  According the a website maintained by the Minnesota DNR:

Sometimes sap flows as early as January or as late as May, but in Minnesota, sap usually runs from about March 15 to April 20.

I hope you have had a chance to taste real maple syrup.  It is very different than what most of us have grown up knowing as maple flavored syrup.  It’s a mild and sweet taste to be honored for the work one puts in the effort of collecting and boiling the sap to make it thick enough to be a syrup.  It usually takes 30-40 gallons of sugar maple sap to produce one gallon of pure maple syrup.

maple walnut sconesI wanted to do  something special with my gift.  Therefore, I made my all time favorite baked treat: scones.  They turned out heavenly.  I used fresh eggs that I purchased from Seifert Poultry’s Farm-Fresh Eggs.  I love the color of these eggs, they look so beautiful.

However,  I realized that I have already done two posts about scones, so I did a little research on bicsotti.  I learned that biscotti is twice baked.  Twice Baked

Perhaps it is the original convenience food, made for sailors who needed something to provide nourishment without molding.  From what I understand, Italians call these  biscotti cantucci, and use the term biscotti to refer to any type of crunchy cookie, round, square and otherwise.  It reminds me of how cookies in Britain are referred to as biscuits.

Some people actually visit Italy (like Francine, who is traveling there this week) and some people stay at home and make biscotti, (like boring old me.)

The biscotti recipe I used comes from King Arthur flours.  The only change I made was to leave out the optional maple flavoring and I did not add a topping of maple sugar.

Maple Walnut Biscotti

  • 2 cups walnuts, coarsely chopped, toasted
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon maple flavor, optional
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 2 1/2 cups King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons maple sugar, for topping; optional

For more information and pictures check out the King Arthur Flours blog post.

Biscotti

One Response to “Maple Walnut Biscotti”

  1. Omega Maiden Oils May 9, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

    what a delicious use of the maple syrup ;)

Leave a Reply

