A Celebration of Local Food: Downtown Farmers’ Market

27 Oct
 by Deanne

Before I left Southwest Minnesota, many people told me about the weekly celebration of local food that occurs in downtown Des Moines every Saturday morning from May until October. Photo of crowd at DSM Downtown Farmers Market

I have been able to visit the market three times since we have arrived in September. This last Saturday was the final day for the market this year.   Photo of lovely colors at DSM Farmers Market

It was a brisk, yet bright and breezy day to take in the sounds (local entertainment), sights (bountiful displays of vegetables and fruit), and the tempting aromas (lots of food vendors).  I got a little distracted by the beautiful fall colors at the honey table but then I snapped into focus and started filling my bag with eggs, eggplant, apples, garlic, spaghetti squash, bok choy, and watermelon radish.

Photo of eggs, garlic, eggplant etc.

I so admire the spirit of the farmers who work hard all week and diligently arrive (from long distances) early in the morning to set up their booths. More than a few farmers wore costumes and held down their canopies as the breeze turned into winter-y gusts that ripped through the canyon of city blocks.

Photo of vendors in costumes

In the end, I found a brochure that lifted my spirits…The Winter Farmers’ Market in November in December. (It is inside!)

I had a chuckle from this article that was re-tweeted on Saturday.  It explains the five types of people you might see at the market.  Check it out…which one are you?

 

 

7 Responses to “A Celebration of Local Food: Downtown Farmers’ Market”

  1. Downtown Farmers' Market October 28, 2013 at 9:26 am #

    Welcome to Des Moines! Thank you for the kind post about the Downtown Farmers’ Market – we are so happy you got the chance to experience it. Join us Nov. 22-23 and Dec. 14-15 for the Winter Markets at Capital Square & Kaleidscope Mall. http://www.desmoinesfarmersmarket.com/winter

    • realocalcooking October 29, 2013 at 9:41 pm #

      You are welcome, I do plan to attend the Winter Market!

  2. Deanna October 28, 2013 at 12:50 pm #

    That is awesome! Can I tell you how much I love that they have a bike valet???

    • realocalcooking October 29, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

      I didn’t know about that so I looked it up. Pretty cool!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fresh Cafe and Market: West Des Moines | Real Local Good - a mother and a daughter learn about real food, local food and cooking food - March 15, 2014

    […] away in a professional building.  I first became aware of this place when I saw their booth at the Downtown Des Moines Farmers Market.  A tray of fresh wheatgrass, sitting in the booth, caught my […]

  2. Another Way to Be Pink: Watermelon Radish Salad | Real Local Good - a mother and a daughter learn about real food, local food and cooking food - March 17, 2014

    […] I was shopping at the farmers market on Saturday there were a lot of people running around with pink clothing and wigs.  Being a bit […]

  3. Fresh Cafe and Market: West Des Moines | Real Local Good - a mother and a daughter learn about real food, local food and cooking food - March 21, 2014

    […] away in a professional building.  I first became aware of this place when I saw their booth at the Downtown Des Moines Farmers Market.   A tray of fresh wheatgrass, sitting in the booth, caught my […]

Leave a Reply

