What if ….more people noticed fake food?

5 Feb

When  my kids were young I often used the Jiffy muffin brand.  It’s an old fashioned looking, blue and white, small box.  Francine told me, “I remember thinking, wait how can these little blue things be blueberries?Jiffy Mixes: Blueberry Muffin Mix

I came across this article recently and it made me remember those crunchy fake blueberry bits. Every time I see those mixes in the store I feel slightly amused. Don’t worry, I am not one to beat myself up over the past.  Not too much anyway. I am more likely to laugh, since I can’t do anything about the past.  But I do notice how my views have changed the more I have learned over the years.

Young moms like Lisa Leake of 100 Days of Real Food, impress me.  She models how to feed her family on less processed food and has a following of over 1.2 million on Facebook. 

There does seem to be a mini trend in the works. More and more people are noticing fake food. Does it matter what we feed ourselves and our families?  If so, why do you think it matters and what will be the result of this new trend?

Ponder the possibilities of our consumer actions leading to good results for your body, your family, your community, and our world. That is what we will do right here once a week. ♥ We’ll explore
  • choices made in the home
  • choices made in our places of worship, schools, and other institutions
  • our everyday career, dining, and shopping choices

Send us ideas and comment on suggestions.

 

5 Responses to “What if ….more people noticed fake food?”

  1. cooking with audrey February 5, 2014 at 2:58 pm #

    it THRILLS my soul when i hear more and more people focusing on reading labels, questioning where their food comes from, and generally opening up discussion about it all!! we WILL change things!

    • realocalcooking February 12, 2014 at 4:11 pm #

      Thanks! I agree. The momentum is gaining. I see little bits of evidence every day.

  2. frankieandgiuseppe February 18, 2014 at 3:21 pm #

    Blueberry flakes is a new one! Since living in Italy where people are very conscious about the quality of what they eat I’ve learnt a lot about food provenance, but I definitely still have a lot to learn. Thanks for the inspiration.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What if ….bloggers decided to join together and promote healthy snacks? - March 12, 2014

    […] blogs and the people that live and work in their life.  Many bloggers I read have chosen to go the real food route because of health or […]

  2. What if ….more commercials showed people cooking? - March 12, 2014

    […] I love it when I see commercials showing people cooking with real food.  It would be great if it were as common as the commercials that show people opening a box.  I don’t know about you but for years I was convinced I was too busy and too tired to cook.  So I bought a lot of convenience and processed foods. […]

Leave a Reply

